Blog Update: Showing Some Skin…

Image from Solenne-J-Art.

Yeah, yeah. I know. Blog updates are always so incredibly boring (unless you’re the person writing the blog). But I wanted to let people know that:

 

1. Although I don’t write or update this blog very often, I am ALWAYS thinking of and developing new content.
2. I’m showing some skin on this blog. What does that mean? If you were hoping that I would answer “I’m going to take some clothes off”, then you totally fell for my shameless plug! And now you can leave!

 

But don’t!

 

So what do I mean by “showing more skin”?  Being a little more uncensored. Showing more personality. Being more of myself. 

 

The one thing that I learned about myself last year through updating this blog was that I was scared of showing too much personality. I tried too hard to find topics that would fit any audience, which forced me to write in a style that really had no voice. How boring. I also wrote with the wrong people in mind. I’ll be honest: I thought of the possible recruiters, professionals, and teachers that could find my blog, and thought about how I want them to see me. What a huge mistake! 

 

People don’t want to know more about you when you write very generally, and with no (true) target audience in mind. Having personality is what makes you different, and more unique. It’s what makes you human. 

 

So, I’m planning on writing more about music and lyrics, cool applications that I find useful, and technology. Because that’s what I’m passionate about.

 

I also want to eventually start a video blog. It’s been on my mind for awhile, but I don’t have a camera or a computer that doesn’t want to explode if I try to record ore than 2 minutes of video. I want to make a video blog NOT so you can hear me ramble about my life, but because I want to be a better communicator and story teller. 

 

Anyways, that was my little rant.

 

For those of you that are still on the blog thinking that I’m still going to show some actual skin, everything read as “Blah blah blah blah. Blah blah! Blah blah blah. Blah blah blah skin blah.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. Solenne J'Photographer · January 24, 2011

    Thanks for my photography!

  2. Michelle Mascardo · January 31, 2011

    Solenne – You are welcome! I had a picture in mind for this post, and this picture definitely hit the idea I was thinking of! The picture is very beautiful. How did you know I used your photography? Does linking to your Deviant Art tell you if your art has been used or not?

Leave a Reply

