How Sarah McLachlan Saved Darryl “DMC” McDaniels’s Life

Did you know that Darryl “DMC” McDaniels loves Sarah McLachlan’s music? DMC tells us:

“…So for one whole year, all I did was listen to Sarah McLachlan’s ‘Angel’. Not only that, but I bought every record she ever made. And the only thing that I was living for was Sarah McLachlan. I was driving my management crazy. When we would go on the road, they would say ‘Come on D we’re going on the road,’ ‘You gotta put this in’. And they’d say, ‘No.’ And I said ‘Then I ain’t going!'”

This is probably one of the funniest, most surprising, and most interesting stories that I’ve heard on The Moth, a podcast I’ve mentioned earlier. If you don’t know what The Moth is, it is a free podcast about regular people who share interesting stories without notes.

McDaniels knows how to tell a story. His pausing, his rhythm and his emphasis on words, all add to his amazing story :

“And he turned the radio on, and this was in 1997. And on the radio was a record called  ‘Angel’ by Sarah McLachlan … for some reason when I heard that record’Angel’ by Sarah McLachlan, something in me said ‘Life is beautiful. It’s good to be alive.'”

To listen to the story, click here.

There is also a really interesting interview that PopMatters wrote in 2006 about this same topic. Read it here.

 

Leave a Reply

